Facebook role out ‘Legacy Contact’

legacy_featured
Facebook have introduced a new feature that lets people choose a legacy contact—a family member or friend who can manage their account when they pass away. The legacy contact will be able to:

  • Write a post to display at the top of the memorialized Timeline (for example, to announce a memorial service or share a special message)
  • Respond to new friend requests from family members and friends who were not yet connected on Facebook
  • Update the profile picture and cover photo

If someone chooses, they may give their legacy contact permission to download an archive of the photos, posts and profile information they shared on Facebook. Other settings will remain the same as before the account was memorialized. The legacy contact will not be able to log in as the person who passed away or see that person’s private messages.

Alternatively, people can let Facebook know if they’d prefer to have their Facebook account permanently deleted after death.

Here’s how to choose a legacy contact:

Open your settings. Choose Security and then Legacy Contact at the bottom of the page.

Legacy Contact_Settings

Legacy Contact_Choose

After choosing your legacy contact, you’ll have the option to send a message to that person.

Legacy Contact_Message

You may give your legacy contact permission to download an archive of the posts, photos and profile info you’ve shared on Facebook.

Legacy Contact_DataFacebook have also redesigned memorialized profiles to pay tribute to the deceased by adding “Remembering” above their name and making it possible for their legacy contact to pin a post to the top of their Timeline.

Legacy Contact_Timeline

Facebook are introducing legacy contacts in the US first but it will be rolled out in the UK soon. This article was sourced from Facebook’s newsroom